When does daylight saving time start in 2022?

When does daylight saving time start in 2022?

Do you already want the time change to happen? The difference is coming. Since on Sunday, April 3, the 2022 summertime will begin, it seeks to take more advantage of natural light and save electricity.

During daylight saving time, clocks will move forward one hour. Officially this change occurs at 2 in the morning. Therefore, it is advised that you advance your watch before going to sleep on Saturday, April 2.

As every year, when the month of March arrives, the time change takes place, going from the current winter time to the summertime, which lasts until October and consists of advancing the clocks one hour. 

This change always occurs on the same day: the last Sunday in March. Thus, all Spaniards must change the time next Sunday, March 27, 2022.

It will be at dawn on that day when the clocks must be advanced one hour so that at 02:00 hours they will become 03:00 hours. That night you will have, in this way, an hour less. 

Why is the time changed in Spain?

This is how it goes from the current wintertime to summertime, which lasts from the last Sunday in March until the last Sunday in October, as regulated by Directive 2000/84/EC of the Council of the European Community.

This time change is to promote energy savings by taking longer hours of natural sunlight during working hours and reducing energy consumption.

However, the debate on the time change is still open, but there are still no signs that it will be definitively dispensed with, and there is no unanimity on suppressing the time change or not.

Summertime is applied in almost the entire country, except in some border municipalities:

  • Baja California: Ensenada, Mexicali, Rosarito, Tecate and Tijuana.
  • Chihuahua: Ascension, Ciudad Juarez, Coyame, Guadalupe, Janos, Manuel Benavides, Ojinaga and Praxedis G. Guerrero.
  • Coahuila: Ciudad Acuna, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jiménez, Nava, Ocampo, Piedras Negras and Zaragoza.
  • Nuevo Leon: Anahuac and Los Aldamas
  • Tamaulipas: Camargo, Ciudad Mier, Ciudad Miguel Alemán, Ciudad Río Bravo, Gustavo Díaz Ordaz, Heroica Matamoros, Nueva Ciudad Guerrero, Nuevo Laredo, Reynosa, Río Bravo and Valle Hermoso.

In these cities, daylight saving time begins on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November.

While in Quintana Roo and Sonora, they have a single time zone throughout the year. Sonora for its high temperatures and Quintana Roo to match the standard of other Caribbean tourist destinations.

Advantages of summertime

With the time change, it will start to get dark later so that you can take advantage of one more hour of daylight. As spring passes, the days will get progressively longer, and we reach the summer solstice. On this date, the day will be the longest of the year. That is, there will be more hours of light.

Another advantage is that having more daylight reduces electricity consumption in your home, which equally benefits the environment by consuming less energy.

Daylight saving time also gives you more opportunities to enjoy the day, whether it’s spending time with family or friends. If this is your plan, don’t forget to share those moments thanks to your Telcel Unlimited Friend, which gives you unlimited social networks and TelcelLaBestRed connectivity with the most outstanding coverage.

By Master James

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

No widgets found. Go to Widget page and add the widget in Offcanvas Sidebar Widget Area.